The Social Media juggernaut has launched a new feature that lets you go down the memory lane and resurface old photos, status updates and other things you posted on Facebook. After subscribing to the service, the blasts from the past will be present on your news feed and you can also edit and delete old posts, or decide to share your memories with friends.
According to Facebook, “On This Day shows content from this date in the past. For example, you might see past status updates, photos, posts from friends and other things you’ve shared or been tagged in – from one year ago, two years ago, and so on. Only you will see this content unless you decide to share it with your friends.”
Since the last few years, Facebook has become an integral part of our lives. From our sombre moments to special ones, we have never failed to keep our life happenings updated on the platform. With On This Day, the platform gives us a chance to look back at some memories we shared and relive those moments!
Facebook has been working on this feature since the last 2 years. It is almost identical to Timehop, a service that lets you sign in with your social networks and then gives you a daily digest of the things you have posted across those networks in the past years. Timehop describes itself as ‘a daily nostalgia kick that will quickly become the highlight of your day.’ The major difference between Timehop and On This Day is that Timehop collates the posts made not just on Facebook but also on other social platforms like Twitter, Instagram, Flickr and Foursquare.
Facebook is taking some precautions and making sure its algorithm filters out all the unpleasant memories. The new service is rolling out to users in stages, so not everyone will be able to see it yet. It will soon be available globally on web and mobile.